Though it may be hard to believe, not all of the wine out there on the market is vegan. From in the ingredients of the wine, to what the wine was filtered with during production, there are a lot of different steps of the wine making process that can include animal products.

Things like Isinglass (fish bladders) and Gelatin (skin, bones, tendons, ligaments, and tissues of cattle, chicken, pigs, horses and fish) are often used in the fining and filtration of wine. Pretty gross, huh?

Fret not though. There are many different vegan wines out there for you to pick from that don’t use the body parts of deceased animals in the production of their wine. Here are a few to try!

Frey Vineyards

  • Biodynamic Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Biodynamic Chardonnay
  • Biodynamic Field Blend
  • Biodynamic Merlot
  • Biodynamic Petite Sirah
  • Biodynamic Sauvignon Blanc
  • Biodynamic Syrah
  • Biodynamic Zinfandel
  • Organic Agriculturist
  • Organic Agriculturist Blanc
  • Organic Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Organic Charbono
  • Organic Chardonnay
  • Organic Dessertage Port
  • Organic Merlot
  • Organic Natural Red, NV
  • Organic Natural Rosé, NV
  • Organic Natural White, NV
  • Organic Petite Sirah
  • Organic Pinot Noir
  • Organic Sangiovese
  • Organic Sauvignon Blanc
  • Organic Syrah
  • Organic Tannat
  • Organic White Zinfandel, NV
  • Organic Zinfandel

Maison Louis Jadot

  • Beaujolais

Natura Wines

  • Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Carmenere
  • Chardonnay (Unoaked)
  • Malbec
  • Merlot
  • Pinot Noir
  • Sauvignon Blanc

Simply V

  • Sauvignon Blanc
  • Red Wine Blend

The Vegan Vine

  • Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Chardonnay

Want to know if a specific wine is vegan or not? Then be sure to head to Barnivore!